Shankovich

FirePro W9100 (with pics!)

7 posts in this topic

Hi all,

As promised in my introduction, I wanted to show my FirePro W9100 off to you all when it arrived ;P. A little background on it, it was sent to me very generously by AMD for feedback. I'm a student in a university in Toronto in aerospace engineering and I began working with computational fluid dynamics last September (it's pure hell but enjoyable at the same time); I'll be using (after I learn) OpenCL to parallelise code. Any ways someone at AMD caught wind of my work and after a couple of e-mails, they decided to send me one! Really happy about it, and I'm especially excited to see how well it can game. On that note, some of you may recall the benchmarks done on Tom's a while back on the W series FirePro cards where they decided to try gaming on them for the fun of it, and it turned out they came very close to results of the chips the pro cards were based on; really it came down to drivers and the fact that the pro cards were clocked a bit lower in order to keep stability. Trust me, some CFD calculations can last hours...you don't want the card to hiccup on hour 4 of 7. 

Anyways, enough of that. Time for some pictures: 

Came directly from the shipping department, very well packaged!

3DSXL for size comparison. This card is big and heavy, using the full board size AMD has.

A nice, thick, heavy backplate to keep this monster straight and cool off those 16 GB memory chips. 

All those display ports, tasty.

So I'll be installing it either today or tomorrow. I'll keep you guys posted on some CAD render times and, of course, I'll try out some games on it. 

Hm... this makes me wish I got the blue 3DSXL rather than the red one... /offtopic.

Quick post to say thanks for the photos and showing off the impressive FirePro W9100 with a HUGE 16GB framebuffer (let us know your memory utilisation and experiences with eyefinity) you're so lucky!