Shankovich

Hello All!

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I've been frequenting the site for a while (I'm the same Shankovich from the comments sections in articles) so I thought I'd join the forums since the community here seems to be pretty thoughtful. That and I like the site a lot :P

Did my first build back when I got my 6600GT for $200 so I could play Battlefield 2 on medium settings hahaha. Huge Battlefield player and Nintendo fan (Biggest Metroid fan on the planet I'm sure). I also love Halo and I generally game on all platforms. My GPU allegiance is mainly to AMD since they tend to keep the prices down, however I'm not super bias towards them; I wanted the GTX 670 a while back but couldn't afford it, so I sprung on a HD 6870 that was on sale. 

I'm a Canadian aerospace engineering student and I work on CFD (computational fluid dynamics), so I've been getting more familiar with C and workstation cards this year (it'll be my thesis project next year also). Going to start reading on OpenCL as well soon. If anyone needs help in calculus or fluid mechanics just feel free to give me a shout! 

Also this month I'm getting a FirePro W9100 sent to me for feedback (another reason I'll need to learn OpenCL, it's the future of computing any ways) so I'll be sure to share pics with everyone when it comes in! 

Thanks and I look forward to being part of the community! 

Hi, Shankovich and welcome to the forums!

I'm glad that you like VideoCardz a lot ;)

Welcome to the forum Shankovich :)